June 2022   OgreOgress fifth all-Hovhaness disc recorded and set for 2023 release

Independent recording label OgreOgress will be releasing its fifth all-Hovhaness disc some time in 2023. Like the fourth disc, released in January 2021, this one comprises, for the most part, first recordings of chamber works and solo piano works — some of which were never published. The works featured are as follows:

  • Sonata for cello and piano (Op. 255) [1932/72]
  • Three Preludes and Fugues for piano (Op. 10) [1935]
  • Mazert Nman Rehani (Thy Hair is Like Basil Leaf) for piano (Op. 38) [1944]
  • Vanadour for piano (Op. 55a) [1945]
  • Davros for piano [1947]
  • Maro for piano [1949]
  • Sextet for violin and 5 percussion (Op. 108) [1966]
  • Fantasy No. IV for 2 trumpets, horn, trombone and tuba (Op. 70d) [1967]
  • Fantasy No. V for 2 trumpets, horn, trombone and tuba (Op. 70e) [1967]
  • Canzona and Fugue for 2 trumpets, horn, trombone and tuba (Op. 72) [1967]
  • Sketchbook of Mr. Purple Poverty for piano (Op. 309) [1978]
  • Christmas Snow for piano [1979]

As well as the limited edition audio CD the entire album is expected to be streamable and purchasable from the OgreOgress Bandcamp webpage and app, where high-quality MP3 downloads are also available of OgreOgress's entire audio catalogue.

Performers are Paul Hersey, piano; GR Brass; Christina Fong, violin; GVSU Percussion Ensemble; Glenn Freeman, timpani; Nancy Steltmann, cello.


The four Hovhaness
releases so far...

Solos Duos Quartets Sextet


Shambala | Talin | Janabar

Listen to audio at:


Solos | Duos | Trios

Listen to audio at:


Violin | Viola and
Keyboard Works

Listen to audio at:


Back to top